Industry News

AIA Selects Ten Projects for Healthcare Design Awards

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Academy of Architecture for Health (AAH) is recognizing ten projects with its 2023 Healthcare Design Awards.

The awards recognize cutting-edge designs that help solve aesthetic, civic, urban, and social problems while also being functional and sustainable. Eligible projects can include healthcare building design, health care planning and health care design-oriented research. This year’s projects were awarded by a six-person jury in the following categories:

Category A: Built: Less than $25 million (construction cost)

Broadway Youth Center | Wheeler Kearns Architects | Chicago 

Family Tree Clinic | Perkins&Will | Minneapolis

Fora Health | Holst Architecture | Portland, Oregon

OhioHealth Neuroscience Wellness Center | Gensler | Columbus, Ohio

Category B: Built: More than $25 million (construction cost) 

Alleghany Health Network Wexford Hospital | HKS | Wexford, Pennsylvania 

Parkland Moody Outpatient Center | HKS | Dallas

Sarasota Memorial Hospital-Venice | Flad Architects | Venice, Florida

Seattle Children's Building Care: Diagnostic and Treatment Facility | ZGF Architects | Seattle

VA Worcester Community-Based Outpatient Clinic | Smith Group | Worcester, Massachusetts 

Category C: Renovations/Remodeled: Primarily built within existing hospital or clinical space or adaptive reuse of an existing building to a health care use.

Penn State Health Milton S. Hershey Medical Center Children's Hospital Vertical Expansion | Payette | Hershey, Pennsylvania 

Visit AIA’s website for more information on the Healthcare Design Awards.